Five Boroughs, One City

SATB choir
in progress

Manhattan (Central Park at Dusk) premiere by
the Manhattan Choral Ensemble, dir. Thomas Cunningham

Queens (Flushing Poem) performed by
Ohio Wesleyan University student singers

Program Note:
New York City, though one metropolitan area, is made up of five Boroughs, each with their own personality: Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, the Bronx, and Staten Island. In this cycle, each movement sets a poem that relates to a specific Borough – either in direct reference, or in atmosphere.

The Manhattan movement of this cycle (“Central Park at Dusk”) received its official premiere by the Manhattan Choral Ensemble on May 18th in New York City.

Sample Page:

Central Park at Dusk
Text by Sara Teasdale

Flushing Poem
Text by Neil Kramer

Brooklyn Bridge
Text by Lola Ridge
in progress

Staten Island
in progress

The Bronx
in progress